Exploring and Snowboarding Japan

Over the past few years, I have become an avid snowboarder – not only do the steep slopes and winding tree runs appeal to me, but so does the fresh, crisp air, the breathtaking views and the joy of riding the mountain with friends. Since learning to snowboard, I have explored many mountains across Europe and completed an instructor course in Canada (Banff National Park is beautiful) but have always dreamed of visiting Japan which friends have repeatedly told me is home to the best snow in the world. So, in February 2019 I set out to experience it for myself.

With Japan being on the other side of the world, it would be a missed opportunity to go for the snow alone. With that in mind, I visited Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto over two weeks as well as spending six days in Niseko snowboarding.

Arriving in Tokyo with a snowboard bag was a challenge. Trying to figure out train maps and how to reach my hotel (three trains, each requiring a new ticket followed by a short walk) and then cart around a bag taller than me on busy subways was not something I was prepared for, but thankfully all of the staff were very helpful and pointed me in the right direction. Tokyo itself was the perfect start to my trip. It enabled me to immerse myself in a new country and culture whilst adjusting to the nine hour time difference! I visited a lot of shrines and parks in Tokyo, as well as the busy shopping districts and tiny, independent restaurants. I also went up Tokyo Skytree to get a view of the world’s largest city (unfortunately, it was too cloudy to see Mount Fuji).

After I had adjusted to the time zone, it was time to fly to Niseko. After a slightly rocky start including a cancelled flight and a 3km walk to my hotel at 11pm, it was finally time to hit the slopes and sample some of the best snow in the world – I was not disappointed. When I woke up the next day, I could see feet of fresh snow and heard people commenting that it was the best day of the season so far – this comment was reinforced by sounds of people shouting and cheering as they slashed through the snow whilst I was on the chairlift. When I arrived at the top and strapped into my board, I was expecting a normal first run where you take it easy and let yourself readjust to being back on a board again. However, finding the lightest, fluffiest powder I had ever experienced threw that thought from my mind. I went down steep, powdery slopes, weaved through dense trees and sent flurries of snow flying through the air, pushing myself and getting my snowboard legs back straight away.

Thankfully, the snow continued to be just as perfect for the remaining five days, with clear skies and snowfall overnight, and I managed to cover the whole mountain as well as discover a few favourite spots (if you are ever in Niseko, drop into the trees next to the Panorama run, and the Miharashi run offers amazing views of the nearby volcano). Due to the incredible snow conditions and sprawling mountain with a variety of runs, it was one of the best snowboarding trips I ever have had – it was just as magical as promised.

After Niseko, I visited Osaka and packed all of the sights into one day before a daytrip to Nara. I didn’t realise Nara was home to a large deer park so I was pleasantly surprised to see hundreds of deer roaming the streets being fed by tourists. After Osaka and Nara, I spent my last few days in Kyoto. As the spiritual centre of Buddhism, Kyoto is full of picturesque Zen gardens and temples – I am no photographer but you can’t help but take a beautiful picture of the Golden Temple. It was the perfect end to the trip, spending days leisurely strolling around stunning gardens and temples, walking through the famous Torii gates at Fushimi Inari Shrine and sampling even more delicious Japanese food.

My whole experience in Japan was unforgettable, from snowboarding to wandering busy streets of Tokyo and strolling through temples and deer parks. I have always felt that travelling enables you to gain a new perspective on life and discover that your day-to-day perspective can change with a little courage and one small decision – where should I go next?

Emma Campbell, Project Assistant

Leave a comment